Matacanes Tours: Which One To Book From Monterrey

Five listings from four operating teams sell a day in the same canyon, at prices from $144 to $611 per person, with very different pickup terms, group sizes and inclusions. Here is what each listing actually offers.

Narrow limestone canyon with turquoise water pooling between tall rock walls

Short answer

Matacanes day tours run from $144 to $611 per person depending on the listing. The most reviewed option is the Gaia full day at 4.9 across 1,783 reviews from $158. The key differences are pickup (only one listing collects you in Monterrey), group size (15 to 30), and whether a full meal is included.

Five listings sell a guided day in the same canyon, and the spread between them is wide: from $144 per person to $611 per person for what is, on the map, the same descent through Matacanes. The difference is not the canyon. It is the group size, the pickup arrangements, the food, the gear package and, on one listing, a small-group format that caps the day at 15 people. We compared the listings line by line so you can pick with the facts in front of you.

One thing before the comparison: the Sierra de Santiago sits inside Parque Nacional Cumbres de Monterrey, and canyon activity there is seasonal and weather-dependent. Operators generally run from about March 21 to about September 15, river levels are watched daily, and the municipal civil protection authority can suspend canyon descents at any time when levels rise, even when it is not raining at the canyon itself. A suspension of this kind was issued and remained in force until further notice. The booking page for your date, and the operator, are the authority on whether a departure runs. Once you know your date will run, the guide to how long a full Matacanes day actually takes helps you plan the rest of your schedule around it.

How Many Matacanes Tour Options Are There Really?

Five listings truly descend Matacanes, run by four different operating teams, and they are not interchangeable: prices run from $144 to $611 per person, durations span about 9 to 12 hours, and only one collects you in Monterrey. The three remaining listings are different products entirely, two descending Chipitin canyon and one a via ferrata at Nido de los Aguiluchos.

The five Matacanes listings break down like this: the Gaia full day (from $158, group max 25, meet at Walmart Supercenter Eugenio Garza Sada or the Hotel Hacienda Cola de Caballo lot), the Full Day From Walmart Las Torres (from $144, group max 30, a 4:00 a.m. meet outside the main entrance), the Camaleon small group from the Hotel Hacienda (from $611, group max 15, minimum age 12), the Matacanes From Monterrey With Lunch (from $195, pickup in Downtown Monterrey and San Pedro Garza Garcia), and the From Santiago With Regional Meal listing (from $247, meeting at the Hotel Hacienda Cola de Caballo in Santiago, guided in Spanish).

Do not confuse these with the Chipitin 7-rappel listings, which descend a different canyon with seven rappels down a waterfall the listing describes as about 100 m, or the Nido de los Aguiluchos via ferrata, which is climbing routes and rappels rather than canyoning. Both are real adventure days near Monterrey, but neither puts you in the water at Matacanes. If a search result shows a price that seems too low for Matacanes, check which canyon the listing names.

Canyoneers in wetsuits and helmets walking a rocky trail beside a canyon wall

For a fuller picture of what the canyon day physically involves, the jumps, the rappels and the caves, see our Matacanes route and rappels guide. If your question is more "can I handle it" than "which one", start with how hard Matacanes actually is.

Which Matacanes Tour Costs What?

Matacanes day tours run from $144 to $611 per person: the Full Day From Walmart Las Torres at from $144, the Gaia full day at from $158, the Monterrey-with-lunch tour at from $195, the Santiago regional-meal tour at from $247, and the Camaleon small group at from $611. These are "from" prices: the live listing shows the price for your date, and the gap between them buys group size, pickup and food, not a better canyon.

Here is the full price and duration picture, printed exactly as the listings state it:

Listing Price per person Stated duration Group max Rating
Matacanes Full-Day (Gaia) from $158 about 1 day 25 4.9 across 1,783 reviews
Full Day From Walmart Las Torres from $144 about 12 hours 30 4.2 across 5 reviews
Camaleon Small Group from $611 about 9 hours 15 4.9 across 27 reviews
From Monterrey With Lunch from $195 about 12 hours not stated 5 across 2 reviews
From Santiago With Regional Meal from $247 about 9 hours not stated no rating yet

Two entries need honest framing. The $611 Camaleon listing sits far above the others; what the price buys on paper is a group capped at 15 and a departure from the Hotel Hacienda roundabout in Santiago. And the two listings with tiny review pools, 5 reviews and 2 reviews, plus one with no reviews yet, should be read as new or low-volume listings, not as proven quality.

Beyond the ticket price, the canyon sits inside a national park with its own charges. The park authority states the entry fee is MXN 125 per person per day, exempt for children under 12, older adults, pensioners and people with disabilities with ID. The community of Potrero Redondo charges an official ejido access fee of MXN 60 per person, paid at the route entrance; the community has publicly warned that people were charging MXN 180 to 250 at the trailhead, so the roster listings that bundle permits into the ticket spare you that negotiation. Whether park and ejido fees are inside your ticket depends on the listing: the From Santiago With Regional Meal tour names CONANP permit and ejido access among its inclusions, while the Gaia listing does not itemize them. Ask the operator before you book.

The three listings above cover most travelers: the most reviewed full day, the only one with both Monterrey pickup and a full meal, and the small-group format. For a deeper breakdown of every fee that can land on top of the ticket, see Matacanes tour cost and what is included.

Where Does Each Tour Meet And Is Pickup Included?

Only the From Monterrey With Lunch listing collects you in Monterrey, picking up in Downtown Monterrey and San Pedro Garza Garcia. The others meet at fixed points: the Gaia tour at Walmart Supercenter Eugenio Garza Sada or the Hotel Hacienda Cola de Caballo lot, the Las Torres tour outside that Walmart's main entrance at 4:00 a.m., and the two Santiago tours at the Hotel Hacienda Cola de Caballo.

The meeting point decision matters more here than on most tours, because the 4:00 a.m. Las Torres meet makes for a brutal start if you are staying in San Pedro, while the Hotel Hacienda meet in Santiago suits anyone already lodged near the Sierra. The drive from Monterrey to Santiago is about 34 km on the Carretera Nacional, roughly 28 minutes in normal traffic, so a Monterrey meeting point still means an early alarm. From Santiago the tours transfer by vehicle toward the canyon access, and the last stretch toward Potrero Redondo runs on unpaved dirt roads that call for high-clearance transport, which is why the listings include group transport from the meeting point rather than asking you to drive to the trailhead.

Listing Pickup or meeting point Hotel pickup Early start
Full-Day (Gaia) Walmart Supercenter Eugenio Garza Sada or Hotel Hacienda Cola de Caballo lot No, group transport from meeting point included Yes
Full Day From Walmart Las Torres Outside main entrance, Walmart Las Torres No 4:00 a.m. per listing
Camaleon Small Group Hotel Hacienda Cola de Caballo roundabout, Santiago No Yes
From Monterrey With Lunch Downtown Monterrey and San Pedro Garza Garcia; outside those zones, Hotel Hacienda Cola de Caballo Yes, round trip Yes
From Santiago With Regional Meal Carr. a la Cola de Caballo 6, Cieneguilla, Santiago No Yes

Getting to the meeting points without a car is doable: app-based rides run between Monterrey and Santiago with an average travel time around 25 minutes, and public buses connect the two on three lines for roughly 50 minutes total. If you are weighing a night in the Sierra instead of a pre-dawn drive, our where to stay in Santiago guide covers cabins near the meeting points, and getting from Monterrey to Matacanes covers the transport options in full.

What Does Each Tour Actually Include?

Every Matacanes listing includes the core safety kit, helmet, harness, descent system, wetsuit and life vest, plus a certified guide. The differences are food and extras: only the From Monterrey With Lunch and From Santiago With Regional Meal listings include a full meal, the Gaia tour adds breakfast, snacks and tour pictures, and the Las Torres listing throws in photographs and videos. Insurance and park permits appear only on some listings.

Gear is the one thing you should not have to think about: all five listings state the standard canyoning package, and life jackets and helmets are mandatory on guided descents, with the flotation vest doing the buoyancy work even for weak swimmers. Where the listings genuinely diverge is everything around the gear:

Listing Breakfast Full meal Snacks Photos Insurance and permits
Full-Day (Gaia) Yes No Yes Tour pictures included Not itemized
Full Day From Walmart Las Torres Yes No No Photographs and videos included Not itemized
Camaleon Small Group Yes, tacos No Yes, tuna and energy bar Not itemized Not itemized
From Monterrey With Lunch Yes Yes, lunch or dinner Trail snack Photo shoot Accident insurance, park permits
From Santiago With Regional Meal Light breakfast Yes, regional meal Yes Photos Accident insurance, CONANP permit, ejido access

Read the meal rows carefully before booking the cheaper listings: both the Gaia and Las Torres tours state a meal is not included, so budget for food after the descent. The Camaleon listing feeds you tacos at breakfast and tuna with an energy bar on the trail, but no proper meal at the end. The two listings that do feed you properly are also the two that spell out insurance and permits, which removes the two cash transactions at the canyon itself. The rest of the planning pages sit on Matacanes Canyoning.

The Gaia full day is the listing we would point most first-time visitors to: it is the most reviewed Matacanes tour on the board at 4.9 across 1,783 reviews, it includes breakfast, snacks, tour pictures and round-trip group transport from the meeting point, and at from $158 per person it sits near the bottom of the price range. Its one real drawback is the cancellation term: the listing carries no customer free-cancellation term, with a refund only if the operator cancels for weather or minimum group size. Check availability on the live listing before you commit your dates.

For the packing side, wetsuit, shoes and what to wear under the harness, our what to bring and wear guide is the practical checklist.

Which Matacanes Tour Has The Best Reviews?

The Gaia full day leads on evidence: 4.9 across 1,783 reviews is by far the largest review pool of any Matacanes listing. The Camaleon small group also shows 4.9, but across 27 reviews. The Las Torres tour shows 4.2 across just 5 reviews, the With Lunch tour shows 5 across 2, and the regional-meal listing has no rating yet. Review count matters as much as the score when the pools are this uneven.

A 5.0 from two reviews tells you two people were satisfied; it cannot tell you the operator's consistency. A 4.2 from five reviews is a small sample with room to move in either direction. This is why this guide prints counts beside every score and why the Gaia listing, reviewed by more than a thousand guests, is the one whose score you can treat as a real signal. On Matacanes Canyoning we only publish scores exactly as the live listing shows them, with no rounding and no averaging.

Turquoise pool at the base of a canyon waterfall framed by dark rock walls

One pattern worth knowing across the canyon's review history: rescues do happen in the Sierra de Santiago, and the civil protection authority has evacuated injured canyoners in recent years, which is the strongest argument for booking a listing with certified guides and full gear rather than treating the canyon as a self-guided hike. Our page on Matacanes safety, rules and rescues covers the guide-versus-solo question in detail, and the operator's own requirements page at GEO Aventura's Matacanes program states the fitness and health conditions they screen for.

Small Group Or Big Group: Which Listing Fits You?

Group size splits the listings into three experiences: 30-person departures at from $144, 25-person departures at from $158, and a 15-person cap on the Camaleon small group at from $611. If you want the smallest group and the most guide attention per person, the Camaleon listing is the only Matacanes option that guarantees it, and it carries a minimum age of 12.

The trade is straightforward. A 25 or 30 person group moves slower through the rappels because each descent is sequential, but it also spreads the cost of the guide team, the transport and the permits across more people, which is how the two big-group listings land at the bottom of the price range. The 15-person cap roughly quadruples the per-person price relative to the cheapest listing and halves the waiting at each obstacle; canyoners who value pace over budget tend to consider it worth it. One listing, From Monterrey With Lunch, states a prior rappelling experience requirement and good fitness, so it filters for confident guests even without a stated group cap.

Line of canyoners rigged on ropes at the top of a rock drop in a green canyon

The From Monterrey With Lunch listing is the pick for anyone who wants the logistics solved end to end: it collects you in Downtown Monterrey or San Pedro Garza Garcia, feeds you breakfast, a trail snack and a full meal, carries accident insurance and park permits in the ticket, runs a photo shoot, and still lands at from $195 per person. Its caveats are real, though: only 2 reviews so far, and that stated prior-rappelling-experience requirement.

If a 15-person cap is what sells you the day, the Camaleon listing is the one that states it.

How Long Is The Day, Really?

Stated durations run about 9 hours on the two Santiago-based listings to about 12 hours on the Las Torres and With Lunch tours, with the Gaia listing describing a full day. Operators describe the tours themselves as running 8 to 10 hours, so the longer listings add early pickup, transfer on dirt roads, and a meal at the end.

The pattern across the listings is consistent: the 12-hour days are the ones that start in Monterrey, and the 9-hour days are the ones that start at the Hotel Hacienda in Santiago, roughly half an hour closer to the canyon. Time in the canyon is water time: operators describe 70 percent or more of the tour in the water, with jumps, swims, rappels and natural slides, and a single drop the operator states at 12 m. Our hour-by-hour Matacanes day walks the full timeline, and the blog piece on how long the Matacanes tour takes answers the same question in short form. If that single big drop is the part making you hesitate, the guide to the tallest jump in Matacanes and which ones you can skip covers exactly that.

Listing Stated duration Start point Meal at the end
Full-Day (Gaia) about 1 day Monterrey meeting points No
Full Day From Walmart Las Torres about 12 hours Walmart Las Torres, 4:00 a.m. No
Camaleon Small Group about 9 hours Santiago No
From Monterrey With Lunch about 12 hours Monterrey pickup Yes
From Santiago With Regional Meal about 9 hours Santiago Yes

Do Matacanes Tours Run All Year?

No. Operators describe a season running from about March 21 to about September 15, dependent on rains and hurricanes, and the municipal civil protection authority can suspend canyon descents at any time when river levels rise. A suspension of this kind was issued after river levels rose, and it stayed in force until a new official notice. The booking page and the operator are the authority on whether a date runs.

This seasonal pattern is the single most important thing to check before you book any listing. The authority has also warned that rains in the upper Sierra can generate flash floods in the canyons even when conditions at the canyon itself look fine, which is exactly why the daily river-level monitoring exists and why no operator will promise a date far ahead. Treat any Matacanes booking between September and March as conditional, and favor listings with a free-cancellation term if you are booking in the shoulder months: the Las Torres, Camaleon, With Lunch and regional-meal listings all carry one, while the Gaia listing does not, refunding only if the operator cancels. Our best time to do Matacanes and flash floods and closures pages cover the season in depth. Flash floods aside, wider safety questions often come up too, and our guide to whether Monterrey is safe for adventure travelers right now covers the advisories, the drive out to Santiago, and canyon rescue records in plain terms.

Swift brown river rushing between boulders in a forested canyon after rain

Which Matacanes Tour Should You Book?

Book the Gaia full day if you want the most proven listing at from $158 with the biggest review pool. Book the With Lunch tour if you want Monterrey pickup, a full meal and permits bundled at from $195. Book the Camaleon small group at from $611 if a 15-person cap matters more than price. Book the Las Torres listing only if the from $144 price outweighs a 4:00 a.m. meet and 5 reviews of track record.

The flowchart is short because the differentiators are few and sharp. Budget first: the two cheapest listings are Gaia and Las Torres. Logistics second: only the With Lunch listing collects you in Monterrey. Group size third: only Camaleon caps at 15. Everything else, the gear, the guides, the canyon, is common to all five.

If you want... Book From Why
The most reviewed, proven day Full-Day (Gaia) $158 4.9 across 1,783 reviews, breakfast, snacks, pictures, transport from meeting point
Pickup at your Monterrey hotel From Monterrey With Lunch $195 Only listing with Monterrey and San Pedro collection, full meal, insurance, permits
The smallest group Camaleon Small Group $611 Group max 15, minimum age 12, Santiago departure
The lowest ticket price Full Day From Walmart Las Torres $144 Cheapest entry, 4:00 a.m. meet, free cancellation
A Spanish-guided day with a regional meal From Santiago With Regional Meal $247 Meal, insurance, permits, 4WD transfer included; new listing, no reviews yet
Bar chart comparing the five Matacanes tour listings by price per person and group size
The five Matacanes listings span $144 to $611 per person, with group caps of 15 to 30 and review pools ranging from none to 1,783.

One more honest note on the low-review listings: the Las Torres tour is the cheapest Matacanes ticket and does carry free cancellation, but with 5 reviews on the board and a 4:00 a.m. meeting time, it is the value pick rather than the safe pick. If your dates are fixed and your margin for a rough morning is thin, the extra $14 for the Gaia listing buys you the largest body of guest evidence on the mountain.

Common Questions About Matacanes Tours

What is the cheapest Matacanes tour?

The Full Day From Walmart Las Torres listing, from $144 per person, is the cheapest Matacanes day tour. It meets outside the Walmart Las Torres main entrance at 4:00 a.m., runs about 12 hours, caps the group at 30 and carries free cancellation. Breakfast is included, a full meal is not.

Which Matacanes tour has pickup in Monterrey?

Only the From Monterrey With Lunch listing collects guests, with round-trip transport from Downtown Monterrey and San Pedro Garza Garcia. Outside those zones it meets you at the Hotel Hacienda Cola de Caballo in Santiago. All other Matacanes listings meet at fixed points in Monterrey or Santiago.

Do all Matacanes tours include the same gear?

Yes in essence. Every listing includes helmet, harness, descent system, wetsuit and life vest with a certified guide. The differences are extras: photos, meals, insurance and permits appear on some listings and not others, so compare inclusions before assuming two similarly priced days are identical.

Is the $611 small-group tour worth it?

It depends on what you value. The Camaleon listing caps the group at 15, roughly half the size of the cheapest departures, which means less waiting at each rappel and more guide attention. Whether that premium over the cheapest listing is worth it is a personal call; the canyon itself is the same.

Can I cancel a Matacanes tour if the weather turns?

Four of the five listings carry a free-cancellation term. The Gaia full day does not: its listing states a refund only if the operator cancels for weather or minimum group size. In every case, if the authority suspends canyon activity, the operator cancels and you are refunded.

Are the Chipitin and Nido tours the same as Matacanes?

No. The Chipitin listings descend a different canyon built around seven rappels, and the Nido de los Aguiluchos tour is a via ferrata with climbing and rappels, not a canyoning descent. Only the five listings named in this guide put you in the water at Matacanes.

What extra fees do I pay at the canyon?

The national park entry fee is MXN 125 per person per day and the official Potrero Redondo ejido access fee is MXN 60 per person, unless your listing bundles permits into the ticket, which two of the five do. Children under 12 are exempt from the park fee with ID.