Matacanes Tour Cost: Price, Park Fee And Ejido Fee Explained

The sticker price on a Matacanes booking page is only part of the bill. Two cash fees are paid on site, one to the national park and one to the community whose land the canyon crosses, and not every listing covers the same food, transport and gear.

Turquoise pool at the base of a narrow limestone canyon with waterfall spray

Short answer

Matacanes day tours run from $144 to $611 per person depending on the listing, with most full-day options between $144 and $247. On top of the booking price, the park charges MXN 125 per person per day and the Potrero Redondo community charges an official MXN 60 ejido access fee, both paid in person.

The sticker price on a Matacanes booking page tells you less than half the story. The listing price covers the guide, the gear and, on most options, transport and breakfast, but two cash fees are collected separately on the ground: the national park entry fee of MXN 125 per person per day and the official MXN 60 ejido access fee paid in Potrero Redondo, the community whose land the canyon crosses. Neither is huge in dollar terms, yet both matter, because the community has publicly warned that outsiders near the trailhead have been charging visitors MXN 180 to 250 for an access that officially costs 60.

This guide puts the whole bill on one page. We compared the eight real listings for Matacanes and the surrounding canyons, line by line, and we lay out what each price band buys, which fees are legitimate, how to spot the inflated ones, and where the cheapest option quietly costs you more in food and transport. For the wider question of which tour suits you, the Matacanes tours comparison guide walks the decision in detail; this page stays on the money.

What Does A Matacanes Tour Actually Cost?

A Matacanes day tour costs from $144 to $611 per person depending on the listing, with the most-reviewed option, the Gaia full day, at from $158 per person rated 4.9 across 1783 reviews. The two cheapest bookings sit at $144 and $158, the lunch-inclusive options at $195 and $247, and one small-group listing at $611. On top of that, budget cash for the MXN 125 park fee and the MXN 60 ejido fee.

That spread is real and it does not map neatly onto quality, which is the first thing a price-checking reader should understand. The $144 listing, Matacanes Full Day From Walmart Las Torres, is rated 4.2 across only 5 reviews and runs about 12 hours from a 4:00 a.m. meeting time outside Walmart Las Torres. The $158 Gaia listing, by contrast, carries 1783 reviews at 4.9 and caps groups at 25. Neither includes a full meal. The $195 and $247 options, from the Lyli and Nantli operators, both include a regional meal at the end of the day, and the $611 Camaleon listing caps the group at 15 with a minimum age of 12.

What the booking price almost never includes is the cash you hand over on the mountain. The park authority states the entry fee for Parque Nacional Cumbres de Monterrey is MXN 125 per person per day, with exemptions for older adults, pensioners, people with disabilities and children under 12 with ID. The community notice from Potrero Redondo sets the official ejido access fee for Matacanes and Chipitin at MXN 60 per person, paid in the community at the route entrance. Both are small amounts, but they are paid in pesos, in cash, at the gate, so arrive with notes.

One cost line people forget is the meeting point. Some listings depart from central Monterrey or San Pedro Garza Garcia with round-trip transport included; others meet in Santiago at the Hotel Hacienda Cola de Caballo roundabout, or at a Walmart parking lot before dawn. If you are staying in Monterrey without a car, a listing without pickup can add the price of a 30 to 40 minute taxi each way to your real total.

Wetsuit and helmet laid out on rocks beside a canyon pool
Listing Canyon Booking price Rating and reviews Group max Meal included
Matacanes Full-Day (Gaia) Matacanes from $158 4.9, 1783 reviews 25 No
Matacanes Full Day From Walmart Las Torres Matacanes from $144 4.2, 5 reviews 30 No
Matacanes Small Group From The Hotel Hacienda Matacanes from $611 4.9, 27 reviews 15 No
Matacanes From Monterrey With Lunch Matacanes from $195 5.0, 2 reviews not stated Yes
Matacanes From Santiago With Regional Meal Matacanes from $247 no reviews yet not stated Yes
Chipitin 7-Rappel From Monterrey Chipitin from $195 no reviews yet not stated Yes
Chipitin 7-Rappel From Santiago Chipitin from $247 no reviews yet not stated Yes
Nido de los Aguiluchos Via Ferrata Nido from $108 4.9, 753 reviews 15 No

The Chipitin and Nido listings are not Matacanes tours; Chipitin is a different canyon built around seven rappels, and Nido is a via ferrata with climbing and rappels rather than canyon descent. They appear here because they sit in the same price neighbourhood and often come up when travelers search for canyon days near Monterrey. If your heart is set on the Matacanes route itself, with its jumps, slides and caves, the five Matacanes rows are the ones to compare.

Which Matacanes Listing Fits Your Budget?

Spend $158 for the most-reviewed standard day, $195 to $247 if you want lunch and Monterrey pickup included, and $611 only if a 15-person small group matters more than anything else. The $144 option is the floor but carries just 5 reviews and a 4:00 a.m. meeting time, and the $247 Nantli listing is new with no reviews yet, so both carry more uncertainty than the price gap suggests.

The value logic works like this. The Gaia full day at from $158 per person includes the wetsuit, harness, helmet and life vest, a continental breakfast, snacks, round-trip group transport from the meeting point, and tour pictures, and it has the deepest review pool of any canyoning listing in the region at 1783 reviews. The meal gap is the trade: you get breakfast and snacks, not a full lunch, so carry extra food or plan a late meal in Santiago. If that gap bothers you, the Lyli listing at from $195 per person adds round-trip transport from Downtown Monterrey and San Pedro Garza Garcia, a full local meal, accident insurance, park permits and a photo shoot, which makes it arguably the cleanest all-in price on the board.

The Camaleon small-group listing at from $611 is the outlier. The listing is rated 4.9 across 27 reviews and caps groups at 15 with a minimum age of 12, and its price sits far above the others. If a small group is what you want, it is the only Matacanes listing that promises one. For everyone else, the same canyon, same gear and same guiding standard are available at less than a third of that price on the standard listings.

There is a budget trap worth naming plainly. The $144 Walmart Las Torres option is the cheapest Matacanes booking on the board, but it carries 5 reviews at 4.2, lists its meal as not included, and starts at 4:00 a.m. outside a Walmart on the far side of Monterrey. Saving a little against the $158 Gaia listing means accepting a pre-dawn drive and an unproven review history. In our comparison the Gaia tour wins the value question for most first-time visitors, and it is the tour this site links most often for exactly that reason.

Canyoneers in wetsuits walking a rocky trail between canyon walls
Price band What you typically get Listings in this band Watch out for
$144 to $158 Full guiding, all gear, breakfast, snacks, group transport from meeting point Gaia $158, Walmart Las Torres $144 Meal gap at lunch; the $144 listing has 5 reviews
$195 to $250 Everything above plus a full regional meal; Monterrey pickup on the Lyli option Lyli $195, Nantli $247 Nantli has no reviews yet; its guide is Spanish-language
$611 Small group capped at 15, breakfast tacos, energy-bar snacks Camaleon $611 The price is several times the standard options

What Do The MXN 125 And MXN 60 Fees Pay For?

The MXN 125 fee is the official daily entry charge for Parque Nacional Cumbres de Monterrey, which manages the land the canyon sits in, and the MXN 60 fee is the official ejido access charge from the Potrero Redondo community, paid at the route entrance for use of its roads and land. Both are small cash amounts, paid in pesos, on top of your booking.

The park fee is set nationally. The park authority states entry costs MXN 125 per person per day and the park is open every day of the year, with exemptions for older adults, pensioners, people with disabilities and children under 12 with ID. Some listings fold park permits into the booking price, the Lyli listing names park permits among its inclusions for example, while others leave it to you on the day, so read the inclusions line before assuming either way. Where a listing does not say, ask the operator directly.

The ejido fee is local and older than the park. Land around Potrero Redondo is communally held, and the community charges MXN 60 per person for access to the Matacanes and Chipitin routes, paid in cash at the entrance. This is a legitimate charge, and the community issued a public notice about it precisely because it was being abused: outsiders were charging visitors MXN 180 to 250 for the same access. The official number is 60. A news report on the community notice quotes the warning in full, and the park authority's own page states the entry fee.

Neither fee is a scam, and neither is optional. What is a scam is paying three or four times the official amount for one of them. The next section covers how to avoid that.

Cost breakdown chart of a Matacanes tour day showing booking price, park fee and ejido fee
Booking price dominates the bill, but the two cash fees, MXN 125 and MXN 60, are paid on site and in pesos.

What Is Included In The Tour Price?

Every Matacanes listing includes the core safety kit, a wetsuit, harness, helmet and life vest, plus a certified guide, and most add breakfast and round-trip group transport from the stated meeting point. What differs sharply is lunch, with only the $195 and $247 listings including a full meal, and extras like photos, insurance and park permits, which vary listing by listing.

The Gaia full day is the clearest example of the standard package. Its inclusions read: wetsuit, harness, helmet, life vest, continental breakfast, snacks, round-trip group transportation from the starting location, and tour pictures. Its excludes line is short, video service only. That is a genuinely full day for from $158 per person, provided you accept that the eating stops at snacks. Compare that with the Lyli listing, which adds a full local meal, accident insurance, park permits, a headlamp and a photo shoot for from $195, and the inclusion gap explains most of the price difference on its own.

The Walmart Las Torres listing includes safety equipment, certified guides, an air-conditioned vehicle, breakfast, a life jacket, photographs and videos, and excludes gratuities, meals and lodging. The Camaleon small group includes helmet, wetsuit, life jacket, harness with descent system, breakfast tacos and snacks of tuna and an energy bar. The Nantli Santiago listing is the most explicit of all: an accredited guide, accident insurance, the CONANP permit and ejido access, 4WD transportation to the canyon, the full gear set, a light breakfast and snacks, a regional meal at the end, and photos, though its guide is Spanish-language per the listing.

Two practical notes. First, gratuities appear on the excludes lines of several listings, so if you tip your guide, and many groups do, that is a cost beyond both the booking and the fees. Second, "round-trip transport" on the standard listings means from the stated meeting point, not from your hotel; none of the Matacanes listings offers hotel pickup except the Lyli option's Downtown Monterrey and San Pedro collection. Getting yourself to the meeting point is your cost and your logistics, and the Monterrey to Matacanes transport guide covers it in detail.

Inclusion Gaia $158 Walmart Las Torres $144 Camaleon $611 Lyli $195 Nantli $247
Wetsuit, helmet, harness, vest Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Breakfast Yes (continental) Yes Yes (tacos) Yes Yes (light)
Full meal No No No Yes Yes (regional)
Transport From meeting point From meeting point Not included From Monterrey and San Pedro 4WD to canyon
Photos Yes Yes, and videos Not stated Yes, photo shoot Yes
Insurance and permits Not stated Not stated Not stated Yes Yes
Guide checking harness buckles on a canyoneer beside a turquoise pool

Read the excludes line as carefully as the includes line. The Camaleon listing excludes private transportation, gratuities and lodging, meaning you reach the Hacienda roundabout in Santiago yourself. The Lyli listing excludes lodging, other food and drinks, and gratuities. No listing covers your hotel the night before, and on a day that starts at 4:00 or 5:00 a.m., that night-before bed in Monterrey or Santiago is part of the true cost of the trip.

How Do You Spot An Inflated Ejido Fee?

The official Potrero Redondo ejido access fee is MXN 60 per person, paid in the community at the route entrance, but the community warned that people were charging visitors MXN 180 to 250 for the same access. Pay the fee in Potrero Redondo itself, ask for the posted amount, and treat any figure above 60 pesos as a signal to stop and check.

The scam works because the fee is invisible until you are standing at a dirt-road checkpoint with a group behind you. Someone collects cash, waves you through, and most visitors never learn they overpaid. The community's own notice is the defense: 60 pesos per person is the official charge, collected in the community. The park's MXN 125 is separate and legitimate, and is collected by the park, not by anyone at a roadside.

Three habits keep you straight. Ask your operator before the trip which fees are included in your booking and which you pay in cash on the day; the good ones answer plainly. Carry small peso notes, because nobody at a mountain checkpoint has change for a 500. And if a quoted access fee is 180, 200 or 250 pesos per person, that is the pattern the community flagged, not a price rise, so query it with your guide rather than paying on the spot.

The fees interact with season too. Operators describe running roughly from 21 March to about 15 September, depending on rains and hurricanes, and Protección Civil de Santiago can suspend canyon activities in the Sierra at any time when river levels rise, as it did, holding until further notice. Suspensions like this are the seasonal pattern, not a one-off: the river level is watched daily, tours pause when it is high, and the booking page and the operator are the authority on whether your date runs. The flash floods and closures guide explains what that means for planning, and the best time to go guide covers the season window.

Charge Official amount Who collects it Where Legit or not
Park entry MXN 125 per person per day Parque Nacional Cumbres de Monterrey Park entrance Legit, exemptions apply
Ejido access MXN 60 per person Potrero Redondo community Community at route entrance Legit
Roadside "cuota" of MXN 180 to 250 Not official Individuals near the trailhead Roadside stops The pattern the community warned about

When Is The Cheapest (And Priciest) Time To Go?

Matacanes does not have a high-season price surge the way beach destinations do; the real constraint is whether your date runs at all. The operator season runs roughly 21 March to 15 September, and river levels can suspend trips at any point. Time your booking against the rain: outside the season or during a suspension, no date goes ahead at any price.

Operators describe the season as starting about 21 March and ending about 15 September, rain and hurricanes permitting, with the water level checked daily by Potrero Redondo residents, Las Adjuntas and state authorities. What changes is availability, weekend dates fill first, and the chance of a weather suspension, which rises with the late-summer rains. When Protección Civil de Santiago suspended canyon activities in the Sierra after river levels rose, the suspension held until further notice, and no operator could run Matacanes at any price.

The fee side is season-proof. The MXN 125 park fee and the MXN 60 ejido fee are flat per-person charges, the same in March as in September, so the cash you carry does not change with the calendar. What the calendar changes is whether the canyon is open at all, and the operator's live listing is the place to confirm a date before you commit.

For packing, which is the other hidden cost of a canyon day, the what to bring and wear guide has the full list. The short version: the wetsuit and safety kit come with the tour, but quick-dry clothing, secure shoes, a dry change for the van and cash for fees and tips do not, and buying any of those the night before in Monterrey costs more than packing them from home.

Steep dirt mountain road winding toward a canyon trailhead

Should You Book The Cheapest Listing Or The Best Value One?

For most first-time visitors the best value is the Gaia full day at from $158 per person, rated 4.9 across 1783 reviews, because it pairs the deepest review history with the standard full gear, breakfast and transport package. Book the $195 Lyli listing if lunch and Monterrey pickup are worth the difference to you, and treat the $144 option as a choice you make knowingly, not a default.

Price-checking readers tend to sort by number, and the number lies in both directions. The cheapest listing carries a 4.2 rating from 5 reviews and a 4:00 a.m. meeting; the most expensive carries 4.9 from 27 reviews and a group cap that matters only if you want it. In the middle, the two lunch-inclusive listings strip out the meal gap that leaves most budget tour-goers hungry by mid-afternoon. The honest answer is that value on this canyon is about inclusions and review depth, not the lowest figure.

The Lyli listing deserves a second look from cost-conscious readers despite sitting above the floor. From $195 per person it folds in round-trip transport from Downtown Monterrey and San Pedro Garza Garcia, a full local meal, accident insurance, park permits and a photo shoot, which covers most of the extras a cheaper booking leaves you to buy or carry. Its review pool is thin, 2 reviews at 5.0, so the rating carries little weight either way, but the inclusion list is the strongest on the Matacanes board for the money. Check availability alongside the Matacanes From Monterrey With Lunch tour page if that package fits your plans.

The Nantli Santiago listing at from $247 is the other all-in option, with a regional meal at the end of the day, 4WD transport to the canyon, insurance and permits all named in its inclusions. It is a new listing with no reviews yet, and its guiding is Spanish-language per the listing, so weigh both facts against the price. English-speaking groups usually land on the Gaia or Lyli tours for that reason alone.

And if the small-group experience is the point rather than the price, the Camaleon listing at from $611, rated 4.9 across 27 reviews with a 15-person cap and a minimum age of 12, is the only Matacanes listing that sells exactly that. Everyone else should compare the $144 to $247 band on inclusions, meeting point and review depth, and remember that the two cash fees, MXN 125 and MXN 60, ride on top of whichever booking you choose.

For the broader question of whether the day justifies the spend, Matacanes Canyoning covers the route itself, the jumps, slides, rappels and caves that the money buys, and the how hard is Matacanes guide tells you whether your fitness matches the price of admission.

Canyoners resting on sunlit rocks above a deep green pool

Common Questions About Matacanes Tour Cost

What is the cheapest Matacanes tour?

The cheapest listing on the board is Matacanes Full Day From Walmart Las Torres at from $144 per person, rated 4.2 across 5 reviews, with breakfast and safety gear included but no full meal. For a little more, the Gaia full day at from $158 per person carries 1783 reviews at 4.9 and the same core inclusions, which is why it wins most value comparisons.

Is the MXN 125 park fee included in the tour price?

It varies by listing. Some listings name park permits among their inclusions, the Lyli and Nantli tours do, while others leave the fee to you on the day. Check the inclusions line on the operator's live listing and ask the operator before you travel.

How much cash should I bring to Matacanes?

Budget for the two official fees, MXN 125 for the national park and MXN 60 for the Potrero Redondo ejido access, plus a buffer for gratuities, which several listings list as excluded, and any food beyond what your tour includes. Carry small peso notes, because change is limited at mountain checkpoints.

Why do Matacanes tour prices vary from $144 to $611?

The spread reflects group size, inclusions and meeting logistics rather than different canyons. The $611 listing caps groups at 15, the $195 and $247 listings include a full meal and, on the Lyli option, Monterrey pickup, and the cheapest listings meet at a Walmart or Santiago point without hotel collection. Every listing covers the same Matacanes route with the same core safety gear.

Is food included on a Matacanes tour?

Most listings include breakfast and snacks: the Gaia tour includes a continental breakfast and snacks, and Camaleon includes breakfast tacos and an energy bar. Only the Lyli listing at from $195 and the Nantli listing at from $247 include a full meal, a regional lunch or dinner served at the end of the day.

What happens to my money if the canyon is suspended?

Suspensions happen: Protección Civil de Santiago can pause canyon activities when river levels rise, and operators describe a season of roughly 21 March to 15 September. Refund terms differ by listing, the Gaia listing for example refunds only if the operator cancels for weather or minimum group size, while other listings carry a free-cancellation term, so read the cancellation line before you book.

Are tips expected on top of the fees?

Gratuities appear on the excludes lines of several listings, including Walmart Las Torres and Camaleon, which means tipping is at your discretion and not collected with the booking. If you tip your guide, factor it into your cash total for the day alongside the two official fees.

Do I pay the fees in dollars?

No. Both the MXN 125 park fee and the MXN 60 ejido access fee are collected in pesos, in cash, on site. Exchange money in Monterrey before the trip so you have cash for local entry and access fees.