Matacanes Full Day Or Extended Program: Which Version Fits
Most people book one Matacanes day and go home soaked and happy. A smaller group pays more for small-group programs, included meals or a different canyon altogether. Here is how the options actually differ.
Short answer
The standard Matacanes full day runs about 12 hours, from $144 to $158 per person, with up to 25 or 30 guests and group transport from a central meeting point. Longer-feeling and small-group versions run from $195 to $611 per person, trade group size or meals for price, and the via ferrata combo at Nido de los Aguiluchos is a shorter climbing-based day from $108.
Matacanes is not one product. The canyon is one route, but the bookings around it split into a standard shared-vehicle full day, pricier small-group versions with more inclusions, and combo or alternative-canyon programs sold alongside it. Choosing between them comes down to three variables: how many hours you want to spend, how much you want to pay for a smaller group or an included meal, and whether you actually want canyoning at all or would be happier on a via ferrata.
The bare bones of the route do not change. Operators describe water jumps, swimming, rappels, natural slides and a 12 m single drop, with tours lasting roughly 8 to 10 hours in the canyon itself and the operator stating that 70 percent or more of that time is spent in water. What changes between listings is everything wrapped around that core: group size, food, transport, start time and price.
This guide compares the real options side by side, using the figures each listing actually shows. For a closer look at the route itself, see the Matacanes route, rappels and jumps guide, and for the overall decision between operators, the which tour to book comparison.
What Does The Standard Matacanes Full Day Include?
The standard full day is a shared trip of roughly 12 hours door-to-door, priced from $144 to $158 per person, that covers all technical gear, breakfast, snacks, group transport from a central meeting point and photos, but leaves lunch and hotel pickup out. It is the format the overwhelming majority of visitors book, and it is the format behind the biggest review pool on the site: the most reviewed listing carries a 4.9 rating across 1,783 reviews.
Two listings fit this description. The one from the Walmart Supercenter Eugenio Garza Sada meeting point in Monterrey (with a second option at the Hotel Hacienda Cola de Caballo lot in Santiago) is described as about a full day, caps the group at 25, and is priced from $158 per person. It includes the wetsuit, harness, helmet, life vest, a continental breakfast, snacks, round-trip group transport from the starting location and tour pictures. The other, a from-$144 listing that meets outside the main entrance of Walmart Las Torres with a 4:00 a.m. start, runs about 12 hours, caps the group at 30 and adds photographs and videos to the inclusions. Both list the meal as not included beyond breakfast and snacks. The from-$144 listing carries a 4.2 rating from a small pool of 5 reviews, so treat that number with the caution a five-person sample deserves.

The reason a 9-hour canyon becomes a 12-hour day is logistics. The meeting points are in Monterrey or Santiago, the access to Potrero Redondo and the trailheads from the Cola de Caballo area runs on unpaved dirt roads that operators describe as needing high-clearance or 4x4 vehicles, and the day includes a continental breakfast stop, gearing up, the approach hike, the canyon descent itself and the drive back. Operators run these trips in shared vehicles precisely because the last stretch of road punishes ordinary cars.
Here is how the two standard-day listings compare on their own numbers:
| Listing | Price | Duration | Group max | Rating | Meeting point |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Matacanes Full-Day Canyoning | from $158 | ~1 day | 25 | 4.9 across 1,783 reviews | Walmart Supercenter Eugenio Garza Sada or Hotel Hacienda Cola de Caballo lot |
| Matacanes Full Day From Walmart Las Torres | from $144 | ~12 hours | 30 | 4.2 across 5 reviews | Walmart Las Torres main entrance, 4:00 a.m. start |
Neither listing shows a minimum age, so if you are bringing a teenager, ask the operator before booking rather than assuming. Free cancellation also differs: the from-$144 listing shows a free-cancellation term, while the from-$158 listing shows none, with a refund only if the operator cancels for weather or minimum group size. That difference alone decides which one many cautious travelers take.
What Longer And Small-Group Options Exist?
Above the standard day sit two genuinely different products: a 15-person small-group version from $611 per person that runs about 9 hours from the Hotel Hacienda Cola de Caballo roundabout, and full-inclusion versions from $195 and $247 per person that add a real meal, insurance, permits and, in one case, Monterrey pickup. None of these are a longer canyon. The route is the route. What you are buying is a smaller group, a fuller package or transport from your hotel zone.
The small-group listing caps the group at 15, sets a minimum age of 12, and includes helmet, wetsuit, life jacket, harness with descent system, a taco breakfast and snacks of tuna and energy bars. It carries a 4.9 rating across 27 reviews, a small but positive pool. It shows free cancellation.
The full-inclusion versions work differently. The from-$195 listing includes round-trip transport from Downtown Monterrey and San Pedro Garza García, with riders outside those zones meeting at the Hotel Hacienda Cola de Caballo in Santiago, plus breakfast, a trail snack, a full local meal, accident insurance, a photo shoot, park permits and the full gear set including a headlamp. It carries a 5.0 rating from just 2 reviews, and the listing states prior rappelling experience and good fitness are required, which makes it the closest thing on the roster to a program for people who already know they love this sport. The from-$247 version meets in Santiago, is guided in Spanish per the listing, and adds 4WD transport to the canyon, a CONANP permit, ejido access, an accredited guide and a regional meal at the end. It is a new listing with no reviews yet, so it earns no rating claim at all.

The honest framing for all three: the canyon day itself is broadly the same water-and-rock experience the operator pages describe, with jumps, slides, swims and rappels and a 12 m drop. You are not paying for more canyon. You are paying for fewer people on the rope, food after the descent, insurance and permits folded into one price, or a seat from Monterrey. Whether those are worth two to four times the standard price is a personal call, and the table below puts it side by side:
| Listing | Price | Group max | Meal | Transport | Rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Small group from Hotel Hacienda | from $611 | 15 | Breakfast and snacks, meal not included | No hotel pickup, departs Hotel Hacienda roundabout | 4.9 across 27 reviews |
| From Monterrey with lunch | from $195 | Not stated | Breakfast, snack and full local meal | Hotel-zone pickup in Monterrey and San Pedro | 5.0 across 2 reviews |
| From Santiago with regional meal | from $247 | Not stated | Light breakfast, snacks, regional meal | No pickup, meets at Hotel Hacienda Cola de Caballo | No reviews yet |
Which Program Fits Your Fitness, Age And Swimming?
The operator line is consistent across programs: minimum age 12 on the listings that state one, intermediate difficulty, regular physical condition, and the ability to jump into water even though strong swimming is not required thanks to the canyoning life jacket. The listings without a stated age limit are not signaling a lower limit, they simply do not print one, so families should ask the operator directly.
The fitness question separates the options more than people expect. All versions describe a long day, and operators exclude participants with heart or lung conditions, recent surgeries or fractures, spinal problems or epilepsy unless they have notified the operator first. The from-$195 full-inclusion version goes further and requires prior rappelling experience and good fitness on its own listing, which makes it the wrong first canyon for a curious beginner and the right one for someone who has already done a descent or two. If you are unsure where you stand, the dedicated fitness and swimming requirements guide walks the medical exclusions in detail.
Age is only printed on two products. The small-group Matacanes listing sets 12 as the minimum, and the via ferrata at Nido de los Aguiluchos also sets 12. An operator statement confirms 12 as the general program minimum with children accompanied by a parent or guardian, but the standard-day listings print no age, so a family of four comparing prices should not read silence as permission. Ask, in writing, before booking.

Here is the fitness-and-access picture per program:
| Program | Stated minimum age | Stated fitness requirement | Best suited to |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard full day (either listing) | None stated, ask operator | Regular condition implied by the route | First-timers who want the classic day |
| Small group from Hotel Hacienda | 12 | Intermediate, operator statement | Travelers wanting fewer people on the rope |
| From Monterrey with lunch | None stated, ask operator | Prior rappelling experience and good fitness per listing | Returning canyoners |
| Via ferrata combo at Nido | 12 | Climbing-based, not canyoning | Families and height-lovers who want less water |
The swimming question deserves its own sentence because it stops bookings. Operators state plainly that swimming ability is not essential, since the specialized canyoning life jacket provides buoyancy, but you must be able to jump into water, and the operator describes 70 percent or more of the day as time in water at temperatures of roughly 12 to 18 degrees Celsius. Anyone who cannot bring themselves to jump, or who panics in cold water, will not enjoy any version of this program, at any price.
How Do Meeting Points And Start Times Differ?
Meeting points split into Monterrey pickups and Santiago self-drives: two listings start from Walmart locations in Monterrey (one at 4:00 a.m.), two include hotel-zone pickup from Downtown Monterrey and San Pedro Garza García, and four depart from the Hotel Hacienda Cola de Caballo area in Santiago. Where you are staying in the metro area largely picks the program for you.
The geography is simple. Monterrey to Santiago via the Carretera Nacional is roughly 34 km and about 28 minutes in normal traffic, and ride-hail trips between the two average around 25 to 26 minutes at fares around MXN 330. Public transit exists but needs three bus lines and about 50 minutes. From Santiago, access to Potrero Redondo and the trailheads runs on unpaved dirt roads that operator descriptions treat as 4x4 territory, which is why every listing includes vehicle transport from the meeting point onward and why none of them offers hotel pickup as a matter of course.
The 4:00 a.m. Walmart Las Torres start deserves a flag. It exists because the 12-hour day needs every daylight hour, and the listing prices it lowest at from $144. If you are staying in San Pedro without a car, a 4:00 a.m. cross-town taxi to a Walmart parking lot is a real cost and a real drag; the from-$195 listing with Downtown and San Pedro pickup solves exactly that problem and throws in the meal. That is the cleanest example on the roster of paying for logistics rather than for a better canyon.
| Listing | Pickup or meeting | Start | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Full-Day Canyoning | Walmart Eugenio Garza Sada or Hacienda Cola de Caballo lot | Not stated | Round-trip group transport from starting point included |
| Full Day From Walmart Las Torres | Walmart Las Torres main entrance | 4:00 a.m. | No hotel pickup |
| From Monterrey With Lunch | Downtown Monterrey and San Pedro pickup | Not stated | Outside zones meet at Hacienda Cola de Caballo |
| From Santiago With Regional Meal | Carr. a la Cola de Caballo 6, Santiago | Not stated | 4WD transport to the canyon included |
If you are weighing a self-drive morning against a pickup, the Monterrey to Matacanes transport guide covers the road, the buses and the ride-hail options in full.
What Do The Different Programs Cost, All In?
Listed prices run from $108 for the via ferrata combo to $611 for the 15-person small group, with the Matacanes day tours themselves spanning $144 to $611 per person, and on top of some listings sit two local fees the park authority and the community set: MXN 125 park entry and MXN 60 ejido access per person. Some listings fold permits into the price and some do not, which is where the real per-person gap narrows or widens.
The two local fees are printed by their authorities, not by tour companies. The national park's official page lists MXN 125 per person per day for Parque Nacional Cumbres de Monterrey, with exemptions for older adults, pensioners, people with disabilities and children under 12 with ID. The Potrero Redondo community's official access fee for Matacanes and Chipitín is MXN 60 per person, paid in the community at the route entrance, and the community publicly warned in 2026 about outsiders charging 180 to 250 pesos under the same name, so pay the official fee, not a roadside collector. The park authority's own page is the source for the entry figure, and the community notice as reported covers the access fee.
Whether a listing already covers these costs matters. The from-$195 listing includes park permits in its inclusions. The from-$247 Santiago listing names the CONANP permit and ejido access explicitly. The standard-day listings do not mention them, so budget for both local fees, MXN 125 and MXN 60, on top of those prices unless the operator says otherwise. Prices on this page are snapshots printed as each listing shows them; the live listing is the authority on what a date actually costs.
| Program | Listed from | Local fees likely extra | Meal included | Free cancellation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Via ferrata combo | $108 | Ask operator | No | No customer term stated |
| Full day from Walmart Las Torres | $144 | Ask operator | No | Yes |
| Full-Day Canyoning | $158 | Ask operator | No | No customer term stated |
| From Monterrey with lunch | $195 | Permits included | Yes | Yes |
| From Santiago with regional meal | $247 | Permit and access included | Yes | Yes |
| Small group from Hacienda | $611 | Ask operator | No | Yes |

For the full fee breakdown and what the wetsuit-and-harness package covers on each trip, the tour cost and inclusions guide goes line by line.
Is The Via Ferrata Combo A Real Alternative?
The Nido de los Aguiluchos via ferrata is a different sport on a different cliff: about 7 hours, from $108 per person, minimum age 12, group max 15, with climbing equipment and guided rappels instead of a river descent, and a 4.9 rating across 753 reviews. It belongs in this comparison because it is the booking people land on when they want the adrenaline without the 12-hour wet day.
It is not Matacanes and does not pretend to be. There is no canyon descent, no long swims, no wetsuit; there are metal rungs, cables, ziplines and rappels on a cliff face, reached from a meeting point at the H‑E‑B Gonzalitos parking lot in Monterrey. For a family with a hesitant swimmer, or a traveler with one free day and no appetite for cold water, it is often the better product, and at from $108 it is also the cheapest day on the roster. Its 4.9 across 753 reviews is a genuinely large pool, second only to the main Matacanes listing on this site.
The trade is simple to state. Matacanes gives you water: jumps, slides, swimming, a 12 m drop and most of a day in a river. Nido gives you height and rock: vertical movement, big views, rappels, no wetsuit. People who book Matacanes for the water and the cave passages would be disappointed by the swap, and people who book Matacanes only because it is the famous name are sometimes happier here.
One practical note for planners: the via ferrata listing shows no customer free-cancellation term, with refund only if the operator cancels, the same pattern as the main from-$158 Matacanes listing. Budget travelers who value flexible plans should read the cancellation line on any of these listings before committing.
Can You Combine Or Extend With Another Canyon?
Yes, in practice, by stacking two separate day bookings rather than buying one longer product: the roster offers Chipitín 7-rappel canyon days from $195 with Monterrey pickup or from $247 from Santiago, and multi-canyon trips are simply two consecutive days with an overnight in Santiago. No operator on this site sells a combined Matacanes-plus-Chipitín program, so anyone promising one is selling you two tours at once.
Chipitín is a real alternative canyon, not a Matacanes variant. Its listings describe a route of seven rappels, down a waterfall of about 100 m as the listing words it, which makes it the choice for people whose favorite part of Matacanes was the rope work rather than the jumps. One version includes round-trip transport from Downtown Monterrey and San Pedro Garza García plus meals, water and electrolytes, from $195 per person. The Santiago version runs about 13 hours, includes 4x4 transport to the canyon, a light breakfast, snacks and a regional meal, from $247, and states an April to September window. Both are new listings without reviews yet, so neither earns a rating claim.

For the two-day plan, Santiago is the base. Cabins for 2 to 4 people in the area typically run 2,000 to 3,500 MXN per night and family cabins for 6 to 8 people run 3,500 to 6,500 MXN per night, and short-term rental data for the municipality shows an average daily rate around 221 USD across roughly 480 active listings. The where to stay in Santiago guide maps the cabin zones against the meeting points. Book the two canyon days on consecutive dates only after checking with both operators, because a rain suspension on day one does not pause day two.
Does The Season Change Which Program Runs?
Yes: operators describe a season from about March 21 to about September 15, and Protección Civil de Santiago can suspend canyon, river and rugged-terrain activities in the Sierra de Santiago at any time when river levels rise, which is exactly what happened, leaving the suspension in force until further notice. That seasonal pattern, not any operator's schedule, is the real constraint on which program you can book and when.
The mechanism matters for planners. The river level in the Matacanes watershed is monitored daily, and operators state the season depends on rains and hurricanes. Rains in the upper Sierra can generate flash floods in the canyons even when it is not raining at the site, which is why the authority suspends whole activity classes rather than waiting for local weather. When a suspension is in force, no listing runs, at any price, in any group size. The operator's own season page is the clearest statement of the pattern, on the operator's Matacanes program page.
What this means for choosing between the full day and the extended programs is timing discipline. The pricier small-group and full-inclusion listings run on the same river as the standard day, so paying $611 does not buy weather immunity. Book any version inside the March-to-September window, keep your dates flexible by a day or two, and treat the booking page and the operator as the only authority on whether a date runs. Prefer listings with a stated free-cancellation term if your travel dates are tight; on this roster that is the from-$144, from-$195, from-$247 and small-group listings, while the from-$158 Matacanes and the via ferrata listings show no customer cancellation term and refund only on operator cancellation.
| Factor | Standard day | Small group | Full inclusion | Via ferrata combo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Season dependency | River level | River level | River level | Cliff activity, still authority-governed |
| Cancellation flexibility | Varies by listing | Free cancellation stated | Free cancellation stated | No customer term stated |
| Best booking window | March 21 to about September 15 | Same | Same | Ask operator |
For the full picture on water levels, flash floods and how suspensions work, read the closures and water levels guide. The one-line version for this comparison: every program on this page pauses when the river is high, and the live listing tells you whether your date is one of them.
The bottom line, from Matacanes Canyoning as a comparison: book the standard full day if you want the classic experience at the lowest sane price and can handle a group of 25 or 30; pay $195 for the pickup-and-lunch version if logistics and food matter more than $40; consider the $611 small group only if crowd size genuinely ruins a canyon for you; and take the via ferrata or Chipitín if what you actually want is rock, rope and height rather than a long cold river. Whatever you pick, confirm the date runs before you build a trip around it.
Common Questions About Matacanes Tour Options
What is the cheapest way to do Matacanes?
The lowest listed Matacanes price is from $144 per person for the full day meeting at Walmart Las Torres, with a 4:00 a.m. start and a group of up to 30. Budget the local fees on top unless the operator confirms they are included, and read the cancellation term before booking.
Is the more expensive Matacanes tour a longer canyon?
No. The route is the same water-and-rock descent on every listing. Higher prices buy a smaller group, an included meal, hotel-zone pickup, insurance or permits, not extra canyon.
What is the difference between Matacanes and the via ferrata combo?
Matacanes is a canyoning descent: jumps, slides, swims and rappels in a river, about 9 to 12 hours. The Nido de los Aguiluchos via ferrata is a climbing-based cliff day of about 7 hours with metal rungs, cables and rappels, from $108, minimum age 12.
Which Matacanes listing has the most reviews?
The Matacanes Full-Day Canyoning listing is the most reviewed on the site, rated 4.9 across 1,783 reviews, priced from $158 per person with a group max of 25.
Do any Matacanes tours include hotel pickup?
One does: the from-$195 listing includes round-trip transport from Downtown Monterrey and San Pedro Garza García, with riders outside those zones meeting at the Hotel Hacienda Cola de Caballo in Santiago. The other listings meet at fixed points.
Can I book two canyons in two days?
Yes, by booking two separate day tours, typically Matacanes one day and Chipitín the next, with an overnight in Santiago. No operator sells them as one combined program, and each day is subject to its own river-level and suspension rules.
Is there a minimum age for the extended programs?
The small-group listing sets a minimum age of 12, and the via ferrata sets 12. The other Matacanes listings print no minimum age, so families should ask the operator directly rather than assume.
When do Matacanes tours run during the year?
Operators describe a season starting about March 21 and ending about September 15, depending on rains and hurricanes, with the river level watched daily and suspensions possible at any time by Protección Civil de Santiago. The booking page is the authority on whether a date runs.